ENDE

 
Abstract
Programme
Documents
CV

Documents

/

Concrete Aesthetics
From Representation to Presence: Artistic Research on Performative Spaces

→ Exposé (PDF, English)

/

Differenz der Differenz (The Difference of Difference)
Introduction to: Kunstautonomien. Luhmann und Bourdieu (Autonomies of Art. Luhmann and Bourdieu). Silke Schreiber: Munich, 2010 (also Diss.: Munich 2008)
→ Text (PDF, German)

The project was funded by a dissertation grant from the German Academic Scholarship Foundation and received the Munich University Society Dissertation Award. Published with the financial support of the German Research Foundation and the 
Böhringer Ingelheim Foundation.

/

World Machine
History and Theory of Sculptural Space
→ Exposé (PDF, German)

In sculpture, the transition from representation to presence can be traced as an exemplary consequence of the autonomisation of social systems. Sculptural art from the Middle Ages emancipated itself from architecture by purposefully staging itself as a significant image (instead of as a decorative ornament). In modern times, this supporting context is increasingly replaced by that of space, for example in the ‘figura serpentinata’ from the Renaissance or the multi-perspective action sculptures by Bernini, which, in the dynamisation of the work and the viewer, already carry performative traits. On the threshold of the 19th to the 20th century, Rodin manages to undertake the transformation from symbolic to concrete: When he fragments older sculptures and reassembles their to create new forms then these montages are no longer images referring to the world, but—as Rilke already remarked—just “things”. This aesthetic development runs parallel to a process of social differentiation, which sustains and accelerates it. Art pays its price for freedom in relation to politics, religion or economy with a semantic overdetermination of the visible world. The allegedly compact, natural things dissolve beneath the surface into contingent significances and the visual coherence of objects merely shrouds the plurality of meanings. This multiplication of social reality becomes a serious problem for art. Because the attribution of its references to the referenced object has been destabilised, it is confronted with the question of the possibility of depicting the ‘real’. In painting, the answer is: Retreat into abstraction. Art still manages to show the demontage of an external system of ordering—and the successful construction of an own, aesthetic ordering from within. Art becomes a world machine.

In the case of sculpture, the question needs to be looked at more closely. On the one hand, the division of the human being into a multitude of social roles plunges man into a crisis. And along with the belief in the wholeness of the ‘individual’, the confidence in the depiction thereof disappears. On the other hand, sculptural art as a producer of concrete objects cannot simply escape into abstraction. The relationship of its objects to the world has to be fundamentally (re-)determined. When Duchamp merges artwork with everyday objects and thus drives the mimesis of realism ad absurdum, he strikes this nerve. His readymades reference nothing but themselves—they are no symbol that can point out a fictive space from the perspective of a real one; they are what they are. They shed off imagery and replace it with the pure presence of the object.

Sculpture cannot move back behind that point. Whichever external references it displays: It cannot conceal the self-reference to its physical form. Every observation of the work recursively discovers its objecthood and the space it shares with the viewer. This awareness is the basis for the widening of sculptural concepts in the 1960s, and evidently also performative practices that interconnect objects, bodies and observers within the actual space can start from here.

2010 – 2012 my research was funded by a postdoctoral grant from the Fritz Thyssen Foundation. Research stays in Rome and Florence were supported by Bibliotheca Hertziana (Max Planck Institute for Art History) and Villa Romana.



©


Imprint:
Christian Hartard / Donnersbergerstraße 43 / 80634 München (Munich) / Germany
studio@hartard.com / www.hartard.com

2019 icaros.org

EN / DE

 
Abstract
Programm
Dokumente
CV

Dokumente

/

Konkrete Ästhetik
Von Repräsentation zu Präsenz: Künstlerische Forschungen zu performativen Räumen
→ Exposé (PDF)

/

Differenz der Differenz
Einleitung zu: Kunstautonomien. Luhmann und Bourdieu. München, Silke-Schreiber-Verlag, 2010 (Diss. Univ. München)
→ Text (PDF)

Die Arbeit wurde durch ein Promotionsstipendium der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes gefördert und mit einem Promotionspreis der Münchner Universitätsgesellschaft ausgezeichnet. Gedruckt mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und der Geschwister-Böhringer-Ingelheim-Stiftung.

/

Weltmaschine
Geschichte und Theorie des plastischen Raums
→ Exposé (PDF)

Der Übergang von Repräsentation zu Präsenz kann in der Bildhauerei exemplarisch als Folge einer Autonomisierung sozialer Systeme nachgezeichnet werden. Die plastische Kunst des Mittelalters emanzipiert sich von der Architektur, indem sie sich bewusst als sinnhaltiges Bild (statt als dekoratives Ornament) inszeniert. Dieser Anlehnungskontext wird in der Neuzeit zunehmend durch den des Raums ersetzt, etwa in der figura serpentinata der Renaissance oder den multiperspektivischen Aktionsfiguren Berninis, die in der Dynamisierung von Werk und Betrachter bereits stark performative Züge tragen. An der Schwelle vom 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert ist es Rodin, der endgültig den turn vom Symbolischen zum Konkreten vollzieht: wenn er ältere Plastiken fragmentiert und ihre Einzelteile zu neuen Formen zusammensetzt, sind solche Montagen keine auf die Welt referierenden Bilder mehr, sondern, wie schon Rilke bemerkte, bloße „Dinge“. Diese ästhetische Entwicklung läuft parallel zu einem Prozess gesellschaftlicher Ausdifferenzierung, der sie trägt und beschleunigt. Die Kunst bezahlt ihren Freiheitsgewinn gegenüber Politik, Religion oder Wirtschaft mit einer semantischen Überbelegung der sichtbaren Welt. Die vermeintlich kompakten, natürlichen Dinge lösen sich unter ihren Oberflächen in kontingente Bedeutungen auf, und die scheinbare Einheit des Objekts verdeckt nur noch die Vielheit des Sinns. Diese Vervielfältigung der sozialen Realität wird für die Kunst zum ernsten Problem. Weil die Zuordnung ihrer Referenzen zum referierten Objekt unsicher geworden ist, sieht sie sich mit der Frage nach der Abbildbarkeit des ‚Realen‘ konfrontiert. In der Malerei lautet die Antwort: Rückzug in die Abstraktion. Was die Kunst dann noch zeigt, ist die Demontage externer Ordnungsstrukturen – und der von innen her gelingende Aufbau eigener, ästhetischer Ordnung. Kunst wird zur Weltmaschine.

Für die Bildhauerei stellt sich die Frage schärfer. Zum einen gerät mit der Aufspaltung der menschlichen Person in eine Vielzahl sozialer Rollen das Menschenbild in eine Krise, und mit dem Glauben an die Ganzheit des ‚Individuums‘ verschwindet auch das Zutrauen in seine Darstellbarkeit. Zum andern kann die plastische Kunst als Produzentin von Gegenständen nicht einfach in die Gegenstandslosigkeit ausweichen. Das Verhältnis ihrer Objekte zur Welt muss sie erst einmal grundsätzlich neu bestimmen. Duchamp trifft diesen wunden Punkt, wenn er Kunstwerk und Alltagsding ineinsfallen lässt und so die Mimesis des Realismus ad absurdum führt. Seine readymades referieren auf nichts als sich selbst. Sie sind keine Zeichen, die vom realen Raum in einen fiktiven verweisen; sie sind, was sie sind. Sie streifen Bildlichkeit ab und ersetzen sie durch die pure Gegenwart des Objekts.

Hinter diesen Punkt kann die Bildhauerei nicht zurück. Was immer sie an fiktionaler Fremdreferenz zeigt: die Selbstreferenz auf ihre materielle Form lässt sich nicht mehr ausblenden. So stößt jede Beobachtung des Werks rekursiv auf dessen Dinglichkeit und auf den Raum, den es mit dem Beobachter teilt. Hier ist die Anschlussstelle für die Erweiterungen des Skulpturbegriffs seit den 1960er-Jahren, und es ist naheliegend, dass genau hier auch performative Praxen ansetzen können, die Dinge, Körper und Beobachter im realen Raum aufeinander beziehen.

Die Recherchen wurden 2010 – 2012 durch ein Postdocstipendium der Fritz-Thyssen-Stiftung gefördert. Forschungsaufenthalte in Rom und Florenz unterstützten die Bibliotheca Hertziana (Max-Planck-Institut für Kunstgeschichte) und die Villa Romana.




©


Impressum:
Christian Hartard / Donnersbergerstraße 43 / 80634 München
studio@hartard.com / www.hartard.com

2019 icaros.org